Reinhard Wegner: Poetry of the Line. Albert Venus and Victor Paul Mohn in Rome

Author(s):

Type of book: Hardcover

Number of pages: 128

Pictures: 63

Size:

ISBN: 978-3-947313-10-5

Published on: December 9, 2020

SKU: EF015

24.90 incl. VAT.

Item number: EF015 Categories: , Keywords: , , ,

Delivery times: in stock, delivery time 1-3 working days*

Description

Poetry of the line

With an introduction by Florian Illies

In Dresden, the ideas of Romanticism remained alive well into the 19th century. The heirs of Caspar David Friedrich, Philipp Otto Runge, Carl Gustav Carus and Adrian Ludwig Richter adapted the bold pictorial concepts of their masters, but they also broke new ground in modernism. The conflict between tradition and avant-garde is played out with elementary forms of visual art, with the presence of line, surface and color. In this context, the drawn line is of outstanding importance and has great impact. This volume uses the works of Ludwig Richter's two students to show their foundations and at the same time the hopes associated with them in the emerging classical modernism.

Franz Albert Venus (1842 - 1871) & Victor Paul Mohn (1842 - 1911)

The two artists undertook two trips to Italy between 1866 and 1869. In Rome and the surrounding area
they joined the painters staying there. They drew and painted the Italian landscape and followed in the footsteps of their teacher and many earlier artists to the Roman Campagna, Naples and Capri. They paid particular attention to the numerous collections of important works in the museums and churches of Rome and Florence. They described their experiences in detail to Ludwig Richter.
The correspondence between Richter, Mohn and Venus, published here for the first time, brings the stages of their journey to life. Between soberly reported lines, one reads anecdotes of the artists' life in the 'Eternal City'. The reader can also follow their search for new forms of expression in landscape art.

 

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Wegner (*1953 in Speyer) studied German and art history in Heidelberg, where he received his doctorate in 1982. In 1991, he habilitated at the TH Darmstadt with the thesis "Nach Albions Stränden. The significance of England for the architecture of Classicism and Romanticism in Prussia". From 1995 to 1999, he was a university lecturer at the University of Stuttgart. From 2000 to 2019, he was Professor of Modern Art History in Jena. From 2010 to 2019, he headed the "European Romanticism" research center.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
Size 22 × 16 cm
ISBN

Illustrations

Binding

Year

Pages

Publisher

Author(s)

Publication date

December 9, 2020

Related Product

MockUp_Cover

Gerd Spitzer: Ludwig Richters Meißner Jahre 1828–1836

45.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart
MockUp_Cover_Website

Johann Georg von Dillis. The unknown etcher. Catalog raisonné

39.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart
MockUp_art_print_dusk

Ruhe vor dem Sturm, Sketching Metal, Kunstdruck nach Christoph Heuer

60.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart
MockUp_art_print_crowdsurfing

Crowdsurfing, Sketching Metal, Kunstdruck nach Christoph Heuer

40.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart

Reinhard Wegner: Poesie der Linie. Albert Venus und Victor Paul Mohn in Rom

Autor(en):

Art des Buches: Hardcover

Seitenzahl: 128

Bilder: 63

Größe:

ISBN: 978-3-947313-10-5

Erschienen am: 9. Dezember 2020

SKU: EF015

24.90 inkl. MwSt.

Artikelnummer: EF015 Kategorien: , Schlagwörter: , , ,

Lieferzeiten: auf Lager, Lieferzeit 1-3 Werktage*

Beschreibung

Poesie der Linie

Mit einer Einführung von Florian Illies

In Dresden blieben die Ideen der Romantik noch bis weit in das 19. Jahrhundert hinein lebendig. Die Erben von Caspar David Friedrich, Philipp Otto Runge, Carl Gustav Carus oder Adrian Ludwig Richter adaptierten die kühnen Bildkonzepte ihrer Lehrmeister, aber sie beschritten auch neue Wege in die Moderne. Ausgetragen wird der Konflikt zwischen Tradition und Avantgarde mit elementaren Formen der bildenden Kunst, mit der Präsenz von Linie, Fläche und Farbe. Dabei kommt der gezeichneten Linie eine herausragende Bedeutung von großer Wirkmacht zu. Der vorliegende Band zeigt nahe an den Werken der beiden Schüler Ludwig Richters ihre Grundlagen und zugleich die damit verbundenen Hoffnungen in die sich ankündigende klassische Moderne.

Franz Albert Venus (1842 – 1871) & Victor Paul Mohn (1842 – 1911)

Die beiden Künstler unternahmen zwischen 1866 und 1869 zwei Reisen nach Italien. In Rom und Umgebung schlossen
sie sich den dort weilenden Malern an. Sie zeichneten und malten die italienische Landschaft und folgten den Spuren ihres Lehrers sowie derjenigen vieler früherer Künstler in die römische Campagna, nach Neapel und auf Capri. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenkten sie den zahlreichen Sammlungen bedeutender Werke in den Museen und Kirchen von Rom und Florenz. Ausführlich schilderten sie Ludwig Richter ihre Erlebnisse und Erfahrungen.
Die hier erstmals veröffentlichte Korrespondenz zwischen Richter, Mohn und Venus lässt die Stationen ihrer Reise lebendig werden. Zwischen nüchtern berichtenden Zeilen liest man Anekdoten des Künstlerlebens aus der ‚Ewigen Stadt‘. Der Leser kann aber auch ihre Suche nach neuen Ausdrucksformen in der Landschaftskunst nachvollziehen.

 

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Wegner (*1953 in Speyer) studierte Germanistik und Kunstgeschichte in Heidelberg, wo er 1982 promoviert wurde. 1991 habilitierte er sich an der TH Darmstadt mit der Arbeit „Nach Albions Stränden. Die Bedeutung Englands für die Architektur des Klassizismus und der Romantik in Preußen“. Von 1995 bis 1999 war er als Hochschuldozent an der Universität Stuttgart tätig. Von 2000 bis 2019 hatte er die Professur für Neuere Kunstgeschichte in Jena inne. Von 2010 bis 2019 leitete er die Forschungsstelle „Europäische Romantik“.

Zusätzliche Information

Gewicht 0.5 kg
Größe 22 × 16 cm
ISBN

Abbildungen

Einband

Jahr

Seiten

Verlag

Autor(en)

Erscheinungsdatum

9. Dezember 2020

Related Product

Cover Mockup Hamburger Kunsthalle

Hamburger Kunsthalle: Figur und Landschaft. Ausstellungskatalog

39.00 inkl. MwSt.

In den Warenkorb
Gunzenhauser-cover image

Stephan Dahme: Alfred Gunzenhauser. Galerist, Sammler, Stifter

29.00 inkl. MwSt.

In den Warenkorb
Was die Welt zu sagen hat

Paul Hindemith Schule Frankfurt: Was die Welt zu sagen hat

10.00 inkl. MwSt.

Weiterlesen
Fearnley_Umschlag_cover image

Herrmann Zschoche: Thomas Fearnley. Von Dresden nach Rom 1828-1835

35.00 inkl. MwSt.

In den Warenkorb