Klaus Herding. Reinventing romance?

Author(s):

Type of book: Softcover

Number of pages: 72

Pictures: 60

Size: 15 x 20 cm

ISBN: 978-3-947313-00-6

Published on: August 22, 2017

SKU: EF001

14.99 incl. VAT.

Item number: EF001 Categories: , , Keywords: , , , ,

Delivery times: in stock, delivery time 1-3 working days*

Description

Contemporary art often unmistakably refers to Romanticism. If we do not simply want to see this as a backward-looking trend, the question arises as to where the points of contact lie. Does Romantic art, understood as a questioning of the world and self-exploration, carry a potential that can also be productive for contemporary art? By analyzing selected works by Caspar David Friedrich and Spitzweg, Ingres and Doré, William Hunt and James Whistler, Feininger and Max Ernst, right up to Joseph Beuys, Anselm Kiefer and Gerhard Richter, numerous connections are demonstrated. What has proven to be sustainable over two hundred years is less the motifs of Romantic art than its potential to change the world with creative restlessness. This opens up a new perspective on an area that seemed all too familiar to us.

 

About the author

Klaus Herding is one of the most important and internationally renowned art historians of our time. In addition to his research focus on caricature, emotion research and the history of revolution and industry, he is particularly dedicated to the works of the artists Gustave Courbet and Pierre Puget. Klaus Herding has also published numerous books and essays on a wide range of topics in modern art history.

After completing his doctorate in art history at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität in Münster and his habilitation in Hamburg, he worked as a research assistant at the Technical University of Berlin before being appointed professor at the University of Hamburg (1975-1993). From 1993 to 2005 he held the Chair of European Art History at the Institute of Art History at the University of Frankfurt am Main. He was also the founder and editor of the "kunststück" series with 103 volumes. In 2007, he was awarded the Hessian Culture Prize.

Facts

  • Edition Fichter, Frankfurt am Main 2017
  • Softcover
  • 72 pages with 60 illustrations
  • 15 x 20 cm
  • 0.3 kg
  • ISBN: 978-3-947313-00-6

 

Keywords

Romanticism; Modernism; Art history; Analysis; Image analysis

Additional information

Weight 0.3 kg
Publisher

Year

ISBN

Pages

Illustrations

Binding

Weight

Size

Author(s)

Publication date

August 22, 2017

Related Product

MockUp_Cover

Gerd Spitzer: Ludwig Richters Meißner Jahre 1828–1836

45.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart
MockUp_Cover_Website

Johann Georg von Dillis. The unknown etcher. Catalog raisonné

39.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart
MockUp_art_print_dusk

Ruhe vor dem Sturm, Sketching Metal, Kunstdruck nach Christoph Heuer

60.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart
MockUp_art_print_crowdsurfing

Crowdsurfing, Sketching Metal, Kunstdruck nach Christoph Heuer

40.00 incl. VAT.

Add to shopping cart

Klaus Herding. Die Romantik neu erfinden?

Autor(en):

Art des Buches: Softcover

Seitenzahl: 72

Bilder: 60

Größe: 15 x 20 cm

ISBN: 978-3-947313-00-6

Erschienen am: 22. August 2017

SKU: EF001

14.99 inkl. MwSt.

Artikelnummer: EF001 Kategorien: , , Schlagwörter: , , , ,

Lieferzeiten: auf Lager, Lieferzeit 1-3 Werktage*

Beschreibung

Unverkennbar beruft sich Gegenwartskunst vielfach auf die Romantik. Will man darin nicht einfach eine rückwärtsgewandte Strömung erblicken, stellt sich die Frage, wo die Berührungspunkte liegen. Trägt romantische Kunst, als Weltbefragung und Selbsterkundung verstanden, ein Potential in sich, das auch für heutige Kunst produktiv werden kann? Mit der Analyse ausgewählter Werke von Caspar David Friedrich und Spitzweg, Ingres und Doré, William Hunt und James Whistler, Feininger und Max Ernst, bis hin zu Joseph Beuys, Anselm Kiefer und Gerhard Richter werden zahlreiche Verbindungen nachgewiesen.Was sich über zweihundert Jahre als tragfähig erwiesen hat, sind weniger die Motive romantischer Kunst als vielmehr ihr Potential, mit schöpferischer Unruhe die Welt zu verändern. Damit eröffnet sich eine neue Sicht auf ein Gebiet, das uns allzu vertraut erschien.

 

Über den Autor

Klaus Herding gehört zu den wichtigsten und international renommierten Kunsthistorikern unserer Zeit. Neben seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten Karikatur, Emotionsforschung sowie Revolutions- und Industriegeschichte widmet er sich besonders den Werken der Künstler Gustave Courbet und Pierre Puget. Aber auch darüber hinaus publizierte Klaus Herding zahlreiche Bücher und Aufsätze zu vielfäligen Themen der modernen Kunstgeschichte.

Nach seiner Promotion im Fach Kunstgeschichte an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität in Münster und seiner Habilitation in Hamburg arbeitete er u.a. als wissenschaftlicher Assistent an der Technischen Universität Berlin bevor er als Professor an die Universität in Hamburg (1975-1993) berufen wurde. Von 1993 bis 2005 hatte er den Lehrstuhl für europäische Kunstgeschichte am Kunstgeschichtlichen Institut der Universität Frankfurt am Main inne. Daneben war er Gründer und Heruasgeber der Reihe „kunststück“ mit 103 Bänden. 2007 wurde er mit dem Hessischen Kulturpreis ausgezeichnet.

Facts

  • Edition Fichter, Frankfurt am Main 2017
  • Softcover
  • 72 Seiten mit 60 Abbildungen
  • 15 x 20 cm
  • 0,3 kg
  • ISBN: 978-3-947313-00-6

 

Schlagworte

Romantik; Moderne; Kunsthistorie; Analyse; Bildanalyse

Zusätzliche Information

Gewicht 0.3 kg
Verlag

Jahr

ISBN

Seiten

Abbildungen

Einband

Gewicht

Größe

Autor(en)

Erscheinungsdatum

22. August 2017

Related Product

Cover Mockup Hamburger Kunsthalle

Hamburger Kunsthalle: Figur und Landschaft. Ausstellungskatalog

39.00 inkl. MwSt.

In den Warenkorb
Gunzenhauser-cover image

Stephan Dahme: Alfred Gunzenhauser. Galerist, Sammler, Stifter

29.00 inkl. MwSt.

In den Warenkorb
Was die Welt zu sagen hat

Paul Hindemith Schule Frankfurt: Was die Welt zu sagen hat

10.00 inkl. MwSt.

Weiterlesen
Fearnley_Umschlag_cover image

Herrmann Zschoche: Thomas Fearnley. Von Dresden nach Rom 1828-1835

35.00 inkl. MwSt.

In den Warenkorb